At The Assumption Catholic Primary School, we follow the Australian Curriculum for NSW schools, as directed by NESA. Being part of the Diocese of Bathurst, we also implement Religious Education to ensure our students are offered experiences of following Jesus as members of the Catholic community.

There are seven Key Learning Areas (KLAs):

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Human Society and its Environment (History and Geography)
  • Science and Technology
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Creative Arts (Music, Visual Art, Drama, Dance)

Primary schools in NSW follow a curriculum based on stages of learning. Each stage is approximately equivalent to two school years. For each stage there is knowledge, understanding, skills, values and attitudes that each student should develop.